Monday, June 28, 2010

May I introduce you to ... Mark Bacino

To let him talk for himself - Mark Bacino says: "I’m an American singer/songwriter, producer, multi-instrumentalist born and raised in New York City".

Bacino's official debut, Pop Job…the long player! a great collection of carefree pop music (in a positive way!) was released in 1997. The album was promoted in NYCs "The Living Room" (still hope to get there when my daughter is old enough to travel long distances and gets interested in good music... *ahem*).
The second album, The Million Dollar Milkshake followed in 2003.

In May 2010 Bacino's third album Queens English was released.
All Music Guide descibes it as an album that "proves it's possible to introduce actual maturity into pop with no adverse effects". Bacino says "it’s sort of a melancholy love-letter to NYC and specifically life in the outer-boroughs".

But lets listen to what the man himself has to say:

  • "Queens English" (2010)
  • "The Million Dollar Milkshake" (2003)
  • "Pop Job...the long player!" (1997)
If you like the new CD buy it. Just one suggestion from me: if you buy it, do it via CDBaby (the link above) - the shipment email alone is it worth it to buy from them (but I won't tell you more!).

    Hotel Lights

    Do you know Darren Jessee? No? Maybe you know Ben Folds Five!
    Darren was the drummer of BFF. And not just since Phil Collins we know that drummers can be successful as solo artists. And no, Darren does NOT sound like Phil. He also does not sound like Ben Folds Five.

    After the split of Ben Folds Five not only Folds continued as solo artist, also Darren. His first self titled album Hotel Lights was released in 2004. The even better Goodnightgoodmorning EP and his standout second album Firecracker People followed soon.
    To describe his music lets say it's melancolic, intense and would be a good soundtrack for autumn.

    • Hotel Lights (2004)
    • Goodnightgoodmorning EP (2006)
    • Firecracker People (2008)

    + + + News June 2010 + + +

    Mike Viola & Kelly Jones - Melon EP
    Mike Viola & Kelly Jones have their new record Melon out in late July 2010. It can be preordered here  for 10$ + shipping.
    The special thing is: it's on vinyl. And for all who want to start to complain about it: you get it as a digital release too.

    Bleu in Europe!
    Bleu announced last week that he will be in the UK in October 2010 (for all Germans: keep your fingers crossed!) to promote his new album "Four". Which means, it's out in or before October 2010!

    To look beyond the rim of your teacup: New Chicane album in July 2010
    No, it's not PowerPop, it's not even Pop (well, sometimes...). But I don't want this blog to be too rigid.
    Chicane will release his new album "Giants" in July.
    Those who don't know Chicane: it's  ambient music. Try the album Behind The Sun. It fits to these summer days very well.

    Fran Healy – Wreckorder
    The frontman of Travis is going solo (not permanently!) with Wreckorder, his new CD. It's not clear when the record will be out, but Healy performs with Keane this July and August. So it may be very soon.

    Ben Folds - Lonely Avenue
    Ben has recorded an album with Nick Hornby. Yes, the author Nick Hornby (High Fidelity, About A Boy, A Long Way Down). Hornby wrote the lyrics, Folds built the songs around it. It will be out in late September.

    Sunday, June 27, 2010

    Jason Falkner

    You know this kind of musicians which are writing, releasing and performing their music for more than a decade - but fail to chart? Those who create good music constantly and don't get any regognition but public, only by their fans? See, one of them (you'll find many other in this blog) is Jason Falkner.

     Falkner started his musical carrer with a band called " The Three O'Clock" but soon he joined a new band of his former bandmate (Roger Joseph Manning Jr.). Jellyfish. More of Jellyfish in the future. Just one thing: if you don't know them - listen to their 2 CDs!.
    After the success of their first CD (Bellybutton) he left the band (and said he'll be never again a band member again).

    His solo carrer started in 1996 with Presents Author Unknown, followed with the fabulous Can you still feel?. I suggest you just listen to the 12 songs from "Can you still feel?" from start to finish - there's no filler song, no low point.
    In 2001 was a good year for loyal fans, two collection of rare songs and demos: Necessity: The 4-Track Years and Everyone Says It's On. There's also a collection of Beatles songs, performed as lullabies, the title says it all: Bedtime With The Beatles (the follow up was released in 2008). I'll have to try this with my daughter...
    In 2002, after a complete album , that never appeared in any record store - just over the net (it's one of these lost albums) Falkner did something very bad: He produced a pheomenal EP (Bliss Descending EP) and waited 3 (THREE) years until his new album.
    His last two records (I'm OK... You're OK and All Quiet On the Noise Floor) got a release in Japan. "I'm OK ... You're OK" had to wait further 3 (THREE! again!) years to be distributed in the US and Europe. I hope "All quiet on the noise floor" does NOT share the same destiny...

    •  Presents Author Unknown (1996)
    •  Can You Still Feel? (1999)
    •  Necessity: The 4-Track Years (2001)
    •  Everyone Says It's On (2001)
    •  Bedtime With The Beatles (2001)
    •  Eloquence (2002) - never released album!
    •  Bliss Descending (EP) (2004)
    •  I'm OK... You're OK (2007)
    •  Bedtime With The Beatles 2 (2008)
    •  All Quiet On the Noise Floor (2009)

    So, here is the famous, never seen the light of the release day album Eloquence in all his glory: